

2014 Bowl Selection Process

COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF BOWLS

(Sugar (SF), Rose (SF), Fiesta, Cotton, Peach, Orange, CFP National Championship)

Contract Bowls: Allstate Sugar (SEC vs. Big 12 when Sugar is not a semifinal game)

Rose (Pac 12 vs. Big Ten when Rose is not a semifinal game)
Capital One Orange (ACC vs. highest ranked SEC/Big Ten non-champion or
Notre Dame when Orange is not a semifinal game)

Access Bowls: Goodyear Cotton

Vizio Fiesta Chick-fil-A Peach

1) Which SEC Team qualifies for the CFP?

The winner of the SEC Championship Game (December 6, 2014) automatically qualifies for a spot in the Cotton, Fiesta or Peach Bowls if that team is not selected to participate in the four-team playoff. The top four teams in the CFP Standings will play in the semifinals (Sugar Bowl and Rose Bowl) with the winners advancing to the CFP National Championship Game in Arlington, TX (Monday, January 12).

2) How can additional SEC teams be selected for the CFP?

Additional SEC teams may be selected for one of the CFP access bowls based on its ranking in the final CFP Selection Committee rankings. There is no limit on the number of teams from any one conference that can be selected to participate in the CFP bowls.

3) How can SEC Team be selected to participate in the Orange Bowl?

When the Orange Bowl is not a semifinal game and an SEC team is the highest ranked team among the non-champions of the SEC and Big Ten and ranked higher than Notre Dame then that team will participate in the Orange Bowl. There are eight years in which the Orange Bowl is not a semifinal game and the SEC is guaranteed three of the eight years, the Big Ten is guaranteed three of the eight years and the remaining two years can be filled by Notre Dame, the SEC or the Big Ten based on CFP Selection Committee rankings. To be clear, the SEC Champion can never participate in the Orange Bowl unless it is a semifinal game.

4) How does the CFP selection process work?

The CFP Selection Committee ranks the top 25 teams and selects the four teams to participate in the semifinal games. Then, after the contract bowls are filled based on conference agreements, the Committee will assign teams to fill the remaining access bowls. Each conference champion from the contract bowls (ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, SEC & Pac 12) has a guaranteed spot in its contracted bowl or in an access bowl (Cotton, Fiesta or Peach) if the contracted bowl is a semifinal game and the conference champion is not selected to participate in a semifinal game. The highest ranked champion from the Mountain West, American, Conference USA, Sun Belt or MAC is guaranteed a spot in a CFP bowl and the remaining spots are filled based on the rankings of teams after the contract bowls have been filled.

<u>Bowl</u>	Contract Teams	<u>Date</u>	<u>Time</u>
Allstate Sugar	Semifinal Game	January 1, 2015	8:30 pm ET
Rose Bowl	Semifinal Game	January 1, 2015	5:00 pm ET
Capital One Orange	ACC vs. Highest Ranked Non-Champion of the SEC/Big Ten or Notre Dame	December 31, 2014	8:00 p.m. ET
Goodyear Cotton	Filled by CFP Selection Committee	January 1, 2015	12:30 pm ET
Vizio Fiesta	Filled by CFP Selection Committee	December 31, 2014	4:00 pm ET
Chick-fil-A Peach	Filled by CFP Selection Committee	December 31, 2014	12:30 pm ET
CFP NCG	Winners of Semifinal Games (Arlington, Texas)	January 12, 2015	8:30 pm ET

5) Where is the CFP National Championship Game played?

The CFP National Championship Game will be played in locations selected by the CFP. The 2015 CFP National Championship Game will be played in Arlington, Texas on January 12, 2015. Glendale, Arizona will host the 2016 game on January 11, 2016 and Tampa, Florida will host the 2017 game on January 9, 2017.

SEC BOWLS

BUFFALO WILD WINGS CITRUS BOWL: (Orlando, FL) vs. Big 10/ACC • January 1 – 1 p.m. (ET) ABC

After the CFP selection process the Citrus Bowl gets the first selection of available SEC Teams. The

Citrus Bowl would be required to take the runner up in the SEC Championship Game once during the six-year term.

POOL OF SIX BOWLS:

After the Citrus Bowl selects a team, there will be a pool of six bowls and the Conference, in consultation with the institutions and the bowls, will make the assignments for these six bowl games from all eligible SEC teams.

The pool of six bowls is as follows:

Outback Bowl (Tampa, FL) vs. Big 10 • January 1 – Noon (ET)	ESPN2
TaxSlayer Bowl (Jacksonville, FL) vs. Big Ten/ACC • January 2 –3:20 p.m. (ET)	ESPN
Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl (Nashville, TN) vs. ACC/Big Ten • Dec 30 – 3:00 p.m. (ET)	ESPN
Advocare V100 Texas Bowl (Houston, TX) vs. Big 12 • December 29 –9:00 pm (ET)	ESPN
Belk Bowl (Charlotte, NC) vs. ACC • December 30 – 6:30 pm (ET)	ESPN
AutoZone Liberty Bowl (Memphis, TN) vs. Big 12 • December 29 – 2:00 p.m. (ET)	ESPN

BOWLS AFTER THE POOL OF SIX:

Compass Birmingham Bowl (Birmingham, AL) vs. American • January 3 – 1 p.m. (ET)

ESPN or ESPN2

The Birmingham Bowl selects after the CFP, Citrus Bowl and the Pool of Six Bowls (Outback Bowl, TaxSlayer Bowl, Music City Bowl, Texas Bowl, Belk Bowl and Liberty Bowl).

Duck Commander Independence Bowl (Shreveport, LA) vs. ACC • December 27 – 3:30 p.m. (ET)

The Independence Bowl selects after the CFP, Citrus Bowl, the Pool of Six (Outback Bowl, TaxSlayer Bowl, Music City Bowl, Texas Bowl, Belk Bowl and Liberty Bowl) and the Birmingham Bowl.

OPEN BOWLS: Teams with six wins are eligible for selection to fill any "open bowl spot" outside the SEC contracted bowls.