Message Board
Minor Leagues
Power Rankings
Playoff Matchups
Daily Glance
NHL Insider

ESPN Auctions
Thursday, June 14
2001 NHL award winners


The winners of the NHL's annual awards for the 2000-01 season announced Thursday night in Toronto:

HART TROPHY (Most Valuable Player)
Winner: Joe Sakic, Colorado
Other Nominees: Mario Lemieux (Pittsburgh), Jaromir Jagr (Pittsburgh)
Notes: This was the first time Joe Sakic was nominated for the Hart Trophy, awarded by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association as "the player adjudged to be most valuable to his team." The Colorado captain finished second overall in scoring with 118 points (54-64) in 82 games. He also led all players in power-play points (46) and game-winning goals (12).
Past winners | ESPN's take | Sakic's stats | Colorado team page

VEZINA TROPHY (Top goaltender)
Winner: Dominik Hasek, Buffalo
Other Nominees: Martin Brodeur (New Jersey), Roman Cechmanek (Philadelphia)
Notes: Hasek won the Vezina Tropt for the sixth time. Only Jacques Plante with seven has won more Vezinas, but when Plante played, the award went to the goalie who yielded the fewest goals. Hasek posted a 37-24-4 record with a 2.11 goals-against average, .921 save percentage and 11 shutouts (league-best) in 67 games. Also won the William Jennings Trophy as the goalie on the club with the fewest goals allowed.
Past winners | ESPN's take | Hasek's stats | Buffalo team page

NORRIS TROPHY (Top all-around defenseman)
Winner: Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
Other Nominees: Ray Bourque (Colorado), Scott Stevens (New Jersey)
Notes: After playing runner-up the past three seasons, Lidstrom wins the award after his fourth consecutive nomination. Also a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy, Lidstrom finished second overall among defensemen in scoring with 71 points (15-56) in 82 games. He also averaged 28:26 of ice game each game, second overall in the league.
Past winners | ESPN's take | Lidstrom's stats | Detroit team page

CALDER TROPHY (Rookie of the year)
Winner: Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose
Other Nominees: Martin Havlat (Ottawa), Brad Richards (Tampa Bay)
Notes: Nabokov is the second player in Sharks franchise history to be a Calder finalist -- defenseman Brad Stuart was a runner-up last year. San Jose's 219th overall pick in the 1994 Entry Draft, the goaltender was key for the Sharks this season. He posted a 32-21-7 record with a 2.19 goals-against average and a .915 save percentage in 66 games. Nabokov is the first goaltender to be named top rookie since the Devils' Martin Brodeur in 1994.
Past winners | ESPN's take | Nabokov's stats | San Jose team page

SELKE TROPHY (Best defensive forward)
Winner: John Madden, New Jersey
Other Nominees: Mike Modano (Dallas), Joe Sakic (Colorado)
Notes: A first-time finalist, Madden beat out some tough competition in just his second full season in the NHL. The center was tied with teammate Patrik Elias for the most shorthanded among the Devils (three). He was fourth overall among Devils forwards with a plus-minus rating of +24. Madden also finished with 38 points (23-15) in 80 games, which ranked 10th overall among New Jersey's squad.
Past winners | ESPN's take | Madden's stats | New Jersey team page

ADAMS AWARD (Coach of the year)
Winner: Bill Barber, Philadelphia
Other Nominees: Scotty Bowman (Detroit), Jacques Martin (Ottawa)
Notes: Selected by the NHL Broadcasters' Association, Barber wins in his first season as an NHL head coach. Barber took over last Dec. 10 after Craig Ramsay was fired and led the Flyers to a 31-13-7-3 record in 54 games. In his first eight games, his team went 5-0-3. Barber not only led his team to the postseason, but also helped the Flyers overcome much controversy surrounding injured players and the Eric Lindros debacle.
Past winners | ESPN's take | Philadelphia team page

LADY BYNG TROPHY (Sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct)
Winner: Joe Sakic, Colorado
Other Nominees: Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit), Adam Oates (Washington)
Notes: Sakic wins the award with his third nomination. He finished third in 1991 and second in 1992. After appearing in all 82 games of the regular-season, the Avalanche center amassed just 20 penalty minutes. Previous winners of the award include Wayne Gretzky (five), Mike Bossy (three) and Paul Kariya (two).
Past winners | ESPN's take | Sakic's stats | Colorado team page

MASTERTON TROPHY (Perseverance, dedication to hockey)
Winner: Adam Graves, New York Rangers
Notes: Graves mourned the deaths of his father and infant son in the past year, but remained what the New York chapter of the NHL writers' association said was "the ever-present heart and soul of the Rangers." Graves is known throughout the league for his tireless efforts to give back to the community through charities and volunteerism, a quality engrained in the winger from his parents, Lynda and Henry Graves, who helped raise over 40 foster children during Adam's childhood.
Past winners | ESPN's take | Graves' stats | Rangers team page

KING CLANCY MEMORIAL TROPHY (Leadership, humanitarian contributions)
Winner: Shjon Podein, Colorado
Notes: Podein receives the award for his leadership qualities on and off the ice, and for making a "noteworthy contribution to his community." Podein founded the Shjon Podein Children's Foundation and works with various inner-city youth hockey programs in Denver and Minnesota, including Dinomites, a youth hockey program for underprivileged kids in Minneapolis. His third annual golf tournament in Rochester, MN raised $150,000 for his foundation this past summer and included actor Matt Damon, who signed posters that raised $40,000.
Past winners | ESPN's take | Podein's stats | Colorado team page

Rounding out the trophy case ...
Other awards given out before or during Thursday night's ceremonies:
Lester B. Pearson award (MVP selected by players): Joe Sakic, Colorado; Art Ross Trophy (Top point scorer in the NHL): Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh; William M. Jennings Trophy (Goalie with fewest goals scored against): Dominik Hasek, Buffalo; Lester Patrick Trophy (Outstanding service to hockey in the United States): Scotty Bowman, head coach, Detroit; David Poile, general manager, Nashville; Gary Bettman, NHL commissioner; Maurice Richard Trophy (Top goal scorer in the NHL): Pavel Bure, Florida; Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP): Patrick Roy, Colorado.

 More from ESPN...
Sakic wins Hart Trophy; Hasek wins sixth Vezina

 ESPN Tools
Email story
Most sent
Print story
Daily email