THE SOUTHEASTERN CONFERENCE



Setting the Standard for Intercollegiate Athletics

BASEBALL

The Southeastern Conference, with its storied 84-year history of athletic achievements and academic excellence, has built perhaps the greatest tradition of intercollegiate competition in baseball of any league in the country since its inception in 1933.

An SEC squad has now appeared in the College World Series 32 of the last 33 years, including appearances by 18 teams in the last seven years. Eight SEC teams were selected for NCAA Regional play with six advancing to NCAA Super Regionals.

The SEC has now sent 58 teams to the College World Series since 1990. That has been accomplished despite no SEC teams making the field in 1992. LSU has been to Omaha 15 times in that stretch, Florida 11 times, South Carolina six times, Georgia and Mississippi State five times, Arkansas four times, while Alabama, Tennessee and Vanderbilt have been three times each, and Auburn twice. Texas A&M made its first appearance as a member of the Southeastern Conference.

Following the 2017 CWS Championship Series, SEC teams have won 11 of the last 28 national championships, with LSU winning six (1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2009), South Carolina winning two (2010, 2011), Vanderbilt taking home the title in 2014, Georgia claiming the 1990 title and Florida in 2017. The SEC has finished runner up 10 times in that span: 1997, 2002, 2005, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2017.

The SEC has played 61 games in the "Final Four" of the College World Series since 1990. Only six times, 1992, 1994, 2003, 2006, 2007 and 2016 has the SEC failed to get a team to the "Final Four" of the CWS.

Total home attendance for all 14 SEC teams passed the two million mark for the seventh consecutive season. The top-five national attendance leaders were all from the SEC (LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Arkansas and South Carolina).

Total attendance for the 2017 SEC Tournament was 127,479. The event has become the Birmingham metro's highest attended sporting event annually, second in the state only to NASCAR races at Talladega. Birmingham Magazine named it the top sporting event annually in the Birmingham area. The entire SEC Baseball Tournament was broadcast live on national television for the third consecutive year.

2017 ACCOMPLISHMENTS

- The 2017 College World Series final between Florida and LSU marked the third time that the College World Series final has included two SEC teams.
- This was the fifth All-SEC national title matchup since 2011. South Carolina and Mississippi State met earlier in 2017 in the women's basketball national championship game, and other All-SEC finals include Alabama and Florida in softball (2014), Florida and South Carolina in baseball (2011) and Alabama and LSU in football (2011).
- The All-SEC final in the College World Series brought the SEC's national championship tally in 2016-17 to six. Other national champions this year included Texas A&M (Men's Indoor Track and Field, Equestrian), South Carolina (Women's Basketball) and Florida (Women's Tennis, Men's Outdoor Track and Field).
- The SEC tied its own national record with six teams in the NCAA Super Regionals. Six teams from the SEC also advanced to Super Regionals in 2004. No other conference had more than three representatives in the Super Regionals.
- The SEC led all conferences with its eight selections to the NCAA Baseball Tournament.
- Four SEC schools were selected as NCAA Regional host sites, and two Florida and LSU earned national seeds.
- Florida and LSU claimed a share of the SEC regular season title, while LSU won the SEC Tournament title.
- A total of 11 SEC student-athletes were selected on the first day of the Major League Baseball Draft. Eight were selected in the first round/competitive balance round A, including four in the top-18.