

THE SOUTHEASTERN CONFERENCE

Setting the Standard for Intercollegiate Athletics

BASEBALL

The Southeastern Conference, with its storied 83-year history of athletic achievements and academic excellence, has built perhaps the greatest tradition of intercollegiate competition in baseball of any league in the country since its inception in 1933.

An SEC squad has now appeared in the College World Series 31 of the last 32 years, including appearances by 15 teams in the last six years. Seven SEC teams were selected for NCAA Regional play with five advancing to NCAA Super Regionals.

The SEC has sent 55 teams to the College World Series since 1990. That was accomplished despite no SEC teams making the field in 1992. In that stretch, LSU has been to Omaha 14 times, Florida has now been 10 times, South Carolina six times, Georgia and Mississippi State five times, Arkansas four times, while Alabama, Tennessee and Vanderbilt have been three times each. Auburn has been twice. SEC teams are 113-97 in Omaha since 1990, a 53.8 winning percentage.

SEC teams have won 10 of the last 27 national championships, with LSU winning six (1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2009), South Carolina winning two (2010, 2011), Vanderbilt taking home the title in 2014 and Georgia claiming the 1990 title. The SEC has finished runner up nine times in that span, 1997, 2002, 2005, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

The SEC has averaged nearly eight games played per year in the College World Series since 1990. In 2015, an SEC team played in each of the 16 games of the CWS. In 2004, 12 of the 15 games played in Omaha involved a SEC team. In 1997, the SEC had a team in 13 of the 14 games played in the CWS. Since 1990, an SEC team has played in 187 of the 393 games.

The SEC has played 55 games in the "Final Four" of the College World Series since 1990. Only six times, 1992, 1994, 2003, 2006, 2007 and 2016 has the SEC failed to get a team to the "Final Four" of the CWS.

Total attendance for the 2016 SEC Tournament was 150,064, which broke the previous record by nearly 17,000. Two of the two-five highest attendance marks for a single session were set in 2016. The event has become the Birmingham metro's highest attended sporting event annually, second in the state only to NASCAR races at Talladega. Birmingham Magazine named it the top sporting event annually in the Birmingham area. The entire SEC Baseball Tournament was broadcast live on national television for the second consecutive year.

2016 ACCOMPLISHMENTS

• A record seven SEC schools were selected as NCAA Regional host sites in 2016, and four teams - also an NCAA record - earned national seeds.

• Total attendance for the 2016 SEC Tournament was 150,064, which broke the previous record by nearly 17,000. Two of the two-five highest attendance marks for a single session were set this year. Combined home attendance for all 14 SEC teams passed the two million mark for the sixth consecutive season, and the top-six national attendance leaders were all from the SEC (LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Arkansas, South Carolina and Texas A&M).

• This season marked the first time that six SEC teams won 40 or more regular season games.

• A total of 14 SEC student-athletes were selected on the first day of the Major League Baseball Draft. Seven were selected in the first round/lottery round A, including two in the top-10. Tennessee's Nick Senzel was selected second overall by the Cincinnati Reds, while the Oakland Athletics took Florida's A.J. Puk with the sixth overall pick. The SEC's four first round picks represented three different schools. The SEC has now had a first-round MLB selection each year since 1991 and 109 total in the first round during that time.

• Among the top-two picks in each of the last two MLB Drafts, three have been from the SEC. Vanderbilt's Dansby Swanson and Arkansas' Andrew Benintendi were taken 1-2 in the 2015 draft.

• South Carolina pitcher Braden Webb was named the 2016 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association National Pitcher of the Year. Florida's Logan Shore and Texas A&M's Boomer White were named District Players of the Year.

• Kentucky's Dustin Beggs was named to the 2016 Capital One Academic All-America Division I Baseball Team.